The New Year’s Resolution Phenomenon

There is a strange phenomenon that happens during the first few months of the year in every city in America. You may have noticed it where you live. I am speaking, of course, of the major influx in gym traffic after America makes their new year’s resolutions.

Most new year’s resolutions involve weight loss. Not surprising. I read on MuffSlap that 34% of Americans score obese on the BMI and another 32.7% fall into the overweight category. Obesity is a growing epidemic – pun intended. Of course there are a lot of people who want to shed a few…or more than a few.  I respect the courage it takes for someone used to spending hours in front of the TV with a large bag of simple carbohydrates laced with saturated fat (read: potato chips) to get up off the couch, drive to the gym, and step up on a treadmill. The sad truth comes around the first of March when I pretty much have the gym to myself again. As it turns out, resolutions rarely rendezvous with reality.

As a member of the former fat kid club, I empathize. I gained most of my weight in fifth grade and kept it on until high school when I finally got motivated and active. I’ve stayed around a healthy weight since then. For me, what the change took was conscious thinking. Here’s what I thought: Why make champagne-fueled resolutions that I know I’ll break? Instead I make manageable lifestyle changes every day.

Take this past October. I was going through a buffet line with Johnny, a fellow actor. He passed by a pan full of freshly baked rolls without so much as looking at one. I was almost offended. What kind of man doesn’t know that these freshly baked rolls are the best part of the buffet? I recovered enough to point out his oversight. Johnny’s response: “How do you think I keep up this girlish figure?” He kinda had a point.

I chose that day to manage my bread intake. Four months later, I’m now avoiding pretty much all grains and starches, except for the occasional indiscretion when my mom makes pancakes. At the gym yesterday I weighed in at 173 – a 12 pound loss since ending my lifelong love affair with simple carbohydrates. These days, when I pass a pan of steaming hot, freshly baked rolls calling to me like the sirens, I repeat my new mantra: Nothing tastes as good as healthy feels.

    • Rex
    • January 12th, 2010

    if you can stick it out the first part of any change – until you see the results you are after first appearing – it gets easier…..old Chinese saying – its easier to say no, when you are saying yes to something bigger at the same time

    • Teresa
    • January 12th, 2010

    Keep it up! This inspires me for sure!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

