Golden Globes Impressions

I’ll preface this by letting you know that I didn’t get to see the entire thing, but I did see most of it and what I saw was RICH. I don’t normally tune in for the Golden Globes, but I am so glad I did this year. From some very interesting outfits to teleprompter errors that made Felicity Huffman look drunk while presenting (or Felicity Huffman actually being intoxicated while presenting?) and RICKY GERVAIS hosting, it was a highly enjoyable evening. Some highlights:

The always-intriguing Cher and newly-classy Christina Aguilera presented the award for Best Original Song this year. Obviously, as Cher pointed out, the two singers were presenting together because they are both celebrating the return of Burlesque. I love both women, but I can’t say I’m a fan of either outfit. Cher does look amazing for a 200-year-old. I’ll give her that, but I’m just not a fan of the straps across the chest or the oddly-shaped corset. I suppose she can’t really pull of rhinestone bras anymore though. Christina, on the other hand, looks fabulous….until you realize that the right half of her bra is completely exposed. Maybe that’s not exactly what it is, but it sure gives that impression. Close, but no cigar, X-tina.

I’m just gonna say it. Chloë Sevigny looked like a misplaced jellyfish last night in this confusing gown. I was not feeling it, but her personal umbrella holder obviously was. Jerk. Anyway, this dress got what it deserved when an usher at the awards accidentally ripped part of the dress as she was walking up the stairs to accept her Best Supporting Actress award for “Big Love”. There you go, Chloë. There you go.

I have loved Drew Barrymore ever since I wrote a book report over her teenage drug-addled autobiography in middle school. Living vicariously through her personal turmoil led me to feel a sort of kinship with her. Ever since then, I’ve followed her career. I’ve cried over her bad movies. I’ve cheered her success. As a major Drew supporter, last night was huge for me. Her performance as Edith Bouvier Beale in “Grey Gardens” was a revelation. It was so amazing to see Drew in a role that required her to disappear within it and to see her succeed. I am so glad that the voting committee for the Globes decided to recognize her for this triumph. Having truly proven the mastery of her craft with this role, I hope more challenging and beautiful roles come her way.

Last but certainly not least, we have the world ambassador of class – Ms. Meryl Streep. The woman has been at the peak of her career for the past several years. Every time she makes a movie and I think it’s the role of her lifetime, another movie comes out 6 months later and completely eclipses the previous role. After winning the Best Actress globe for “Julie and Julia” (winning against herself and three other classy women), Meryl wiped away the makeup for a second to show us a few layers behind the movie star at the top of the world. Her acceptance speech was beautiful and surprising. I’ll leave you with a video of her win and speech.

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

