Play That Funky Music, White Boy

You might be surprised by this, but I’ll just say it: street culture fascinates me. I love the pulse and soul of the city, especially hip hop. One thing I’ve always wanted to be is a hip hop dancer. I’m a pretty good dancer when it comes to pretty and clean things but when it comes to dirty and funky hip hop, I look like a flamingo: a textbook “white boy.” I used to think my lack of soul was just due to my race, but I’ve lately discovered some white boy dancer/choreographers who can really “bring it.” Apparently, it can be done and done well.

Dejan Tubic

This Croatian/Serbian killer is only 20! I really enjoy his style. He uses a sweet balance of hard-hitting moves mixed with a cool “three drinks in” delivery that really works for me. This particular video of his was the first of his I saw, but he has tons more on his youtube channel. He’s got a few nice professional credits under his belt already and I only see more big things up for him.

Bobby Newberry and Blake McGrath

These two have been at the game a bit longer. You probably saw Blake on the first season of “So You Think You Can Dance.” He’s now transitioned into working as a choreographer as well, and his work is often seen on the Canadian SYTYCD. Frequent collaborator Bobby is definitely big time. He’s choreographed for the Pussycat Dolls, Kelis, and Eminem and plenty others in addition to teaching class around the world. I really enjoy the movement quality they use. It’s what I would imagine high fashion modeling would look like as a dance form. Very cool.

Tucker Barkley

This kid is 18! SICK! He’s currently working as a backup dancer for Britney Spears and has also collaborated with NappyTabs, Brian Friedman, and Janet Jackson. I am obsessed with the way he moves. His footwork is so fast and intricate with insane musicality. He’s able to switch up his crazy style depending on the music and dancers. If you look at the first video I put up of him, he’s using a lot of hard-hitting and masculine moves. Now check out the video below it. I can see that choreo working on a burlesque group. Tucker makes a complete 180 in that video and it’s just as stellar. A killer dancer and choreographer – this kid is gonna be huge.

Like what you see? Let me know! Comment away.

  1. Pretty awesome dancing! I wish I could move even half that well.

    • eryn
    • January 24th, 2010

    Post one of you ….

    • Teresa
    • February 1st, 2010

    I like…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

