Of Rocks and Hard Places

I met someone last night.

He asked that I not share his name, so I won’t, but I’ll tell you as much as I can about him without giving too much away. We started talking while I was in Huntsville this past weekend and made plans to hang out during my little 3 day break here in Columbus, so I went over to his place last night for dinner and a movie. He actually cooked for me! How often does that happen? He’s a pretty good cook too! Most importantly, he possesses the major quality I look for in a guy – he’s just as awkward as I am. On top of that, he’s incredibly attractive and a dancer. I hate the term “adorkable,” but it’s the best way to describe this guy. He’s nearly blind so he constantly wears these glasses with nearly inch-thick lenses. Imagine Peter Parker without the ability to turn into a spider. Remember the scene in “Spider-Man” when Peter looks in the mirror and notices his incredible physique for the first time? Remember the look on his face? That was the expression I wore when I found out about the body this adorable boy kept hidden under his sweater and scarf. I think I actually had to pick my jaw up off the floor. It was so amazing to lay next to this boy, feeling like I knew him already – like I’d known him for years. Anyway, I should get a handle on my fingers before they give away all of my secrets.

My night was wonderful. The sobering part: I leave on Thursday for 3 months.

There are many good things about living without an anchor. The idea of “my room” is flexible so there is no need for stressful trips to Pier 1, searching out surprisingly expensive decorating options. I’m traveling by bus so I have no gasoline expenses. With a different city every day, I never get bored with my surroundings and there are always new people to meet. The downside – there is little opportunity for lasting connection. There’s no way to fall in love without the hurt coming because I’ll always leave. I think Nelly Furtado put it best: “I’m like a bird. I’ll always fly away. I don’t know where my home is. I don’t know where my soul is.”

That isn’t to say that enjoying time with someone is pointless. Like I told the boy last night, “At least I met you.” We’re having another date on Wednesday night and then I’ll slide a bookmark into a perfect evening and hope to finish our story some other time.

  1. “I think I actually had to pick my jaw up off the floor. It was so amazing to lay next to this boy, feeling like I knew him already – like I’d known him for years.”

    I’ve been feeling like this about a particular someone for about 2 weeks now. Ohhh life.

    • Hobo Joe
    • February 2nd, 2010

    i love the bookmark analogy.

    • Ice-T
    • February 3rd, 2010

    This is super cute!! I can’t believe you quoted Nelly Furtado for God’s sake… but nevertheless,

    I LOVE dancers and I LOVE surprisingly beautiful bodies…LOL

    Never before heard the word “adorkable,” is that bad?

    You’re leaving, but you have something familiar too look forward to when you come back.

    xoxo

  1. February 25th, 2010

Leave a Reply

