Project Hotel Key – Baxley, GA

Key West Inn – Baxley, GA

After a long day of travel, manual labor, and performing, we are finally at our hotel! I’m struggling to find the exact wording to explain this hotel to you. It’s got all the requirements (two beds, bathroom, lights, coffee maker, desk and wireless internet!) but something is just a little bit different about this place. They say a picture speaks a thousand words, so I’ll let this one do the talking:

This is the wallpaper next to the desk/table where I am now seated. As you can see, years of humidity and neglect have caused the paper to start peeling away from the wall. Add to this the unusual color choices (seaweed green and coral yellow bedspreads) and the unmistakable scent of ashtray in the hallways and you’ve got a pretty good idea of what I’m living in tonight. The good part: we roll out again in the morning.

I’m rooming tonight with our keyboardist and music director extraordinaire, Steven. He loves his 80s and 90s sitcoms. I’ve had some really great background television noise to entertain me while writing. “The Nanny” just ended and now we’re on to “Golden Girls.” I’d forgotten how much I don’t miss Fran Drescher. Steven constantly threatens to take away my gay card because of the many supposedly requisite movies and television shows I haven’t committed to memory. While I do adore the cast of “Golden Girls,” I cannot quote specific episodes. I cannot do this with any show. The closest I get to being memorized is having a general knowledge of the characters and their relationship to one another. However, I could probably recite the resumé of each actor working on the show. I guess that comes with having a dad in the writer’s guild.

More big days and updates to come! Please keep reading!

    • rex
    • February 6th, 2010

    sounds like a sitcom in itself – the light from the Golden Girls rippling of the rippled wall paper in Baxley….so many adventures ahead

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

