Project Hotel Key – Clover, SC

Comfort Inn – Clover, SC

Here I am in Clover, South Carolina writing from a soft bed in my room at the Comfort Inn. Comfort is a fitting word for this place. It’s so nice to stay in a hotel with an elevator. That may sound lazy to you, but realize that I am carting around four bags from the bus to my room. Stairs are a hassle.

The room is great. The beds, as I mentioned, are soft. They come with four pillows, which I love. In my most comfortable sleeps, I only use three pillows, but the fourth adds a sense of security – like a silent, fluffy watchdog. So far the bed and pillows look clean. I haven’t noticed any large stains yet. There’s also a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave, and television. My only complaint is the difficult-to-find wall outlets. I wish hotels would place this in convenient, visible locations. I hate pushing cabinets and beds out of their places just so I can plug my computer in. The only other thing, not a complaint, that is curious about the room is this one light on the wall.

My sister refers to these lights, usually placed on the ceiling, as Boob Lights. That may sound vulgar to you, but take another look at them and tell me you don’t see it too.

We had a great show tonight. We played to over 800, our largest audience yet. The performance hall, housed in Clover High School, is huge. Not only is it wider than three school buses lined up front to back, it has an amazing fly system AND a balcony! The space is so resonant that I sounded like a rock star from where I was standing. Well…a rock star singing a bunch of country songs about truck driving, but I digress. I never had anything like that when I was in high school, and I went to a performing arts high school! Then again, my school wasn’t funded by a nuclear power plant on the premises. The facilities manager joked that a student body made of three-toed cyclops was a small price to pay for the wonderful theatre. Joking aside, the students at the school are, by some sort of miracle, fully normal-looking humans with two eyes and five toes per foot. They jumped at the chance to work with us as we broke down the set and carted it out to the truck. After we finished, they had us sign a poster for them to hang up in their green room. I feel really special.

One last thing:

The most delicious apples I’ve ever tasted, courtesy of the Clover High School hospitality crew! Thanks, guys!

Tune in tomorrow for stories from Washington, NC!

    • Hobo Joe
    • February 12th, 2010

    BOOOB LIGHTS

    and you are really very special.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

