Project Hotel Key – Gaffney, SC

Jameson Inn – Gaffney, South Carolina

There’s a fun game that my friend Lena likes to play at load out. It’s called 186. The rules: someone gives you a random noun and you have to make a bar joke out of it. For example, “186 octopi walk into a bar. The bartender says, ‘Sorry. We don’t serve octopus at this establishment.’ The head octopus responds, ‘No problem. We’ll just order the chicken!'” Ba-dum chik!

Let’s play a game of 186 right now. The noun: Gaffney residents. The joke: “186 Gaffney residents walk into a bar. No one notices – because they do not make a sound.”

Tonight was a tough crowd. They clapped and laughed in a few places, so I assume they at least enjoyed the show mildly, but I’m fairly certain they confused our show with a golf tournament. It didn’t help that all 40-or-so audience members decided to sit in the rear portion of the large college auditorium. With the playful nature of the show we’re performing, audience connection is vital. Without that interplay, we have to pull our energy and humor out of thin air. Tonight, I felt like our audience was at least two counties over. That aside, we still gave them a show and, at the end of the day, that is what our job is regardless of their appreciation. One things I would say to audience members at any theatre: Sit close! We like you!

My road family and I have come to a conclusion after our 3 days in Gaffney – South Carolina has a vendetta against us. I’m not sure what we did to deserve it. All we wanted was a few smiles, and instead we got a string of bad luck. I was fortunate/jealous to miss out on the meth-head waffle house waitress and the lady who had a seizure at the laundromat. What I can comment on, however, is our Valentine’s Day experience at the Sagebrush Steakhouse with the most unprofessional waitress I’ve ever encountered. I realize that my expectations of good service are raised by the high standards my bosses hold me to in my own waiting jobs, but some problems should be taken care of by common sense. Don’t laugh at an out-of-town customer when he orders a Cosmo; perhaps he had no idea that you can’t get alcohol in restaurants on Sunday. Also, when is it ever good to sit down at the table while complaining about how your boss ruined your Valentine’s plans by scheduling you for work? Why are your customers supposed to care about that? On top of that, she did a terrible job of pacing the meal and expected us to understand when they were out of bacon, chives, pasta, spinach, and KNIVES!

I really don’t know how to finish this entry other than to say this: I am so glad we’re leaving this state tomorrow.

More updates from Michigan!

    • eryn
    • February 17th, 2010

    Write more about music

  1. I completely understand about the service. I work at Publix where OBVIOUSLY customer service is our #1 – so any time I’m at any type of retail store I get infuriated when they don’t meet the standards when my fellow associated and I exceed on a regular basis. HOW TACKY!
    I would have asked her how such a whiny girl has anyone to spend Vday with – pishaw.

    And kudos on the game – gotta keep it fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

