LOST: Season 2 Reactions

LOST EPISODE COUNT – (48/120)

I just finished season two and before I write anything else, there is something I have to get out.

OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD!

My mind is blown to smithereens. I’m completely floored by the twists in the past four episodes, but especially the finale. I don’t even know how to gather my thoughts, so I’m just gonna spit it out raw for ya.

  • The “Pearl” discovery led me to believe that the number entering and button mashing was all for nothing, just a psychological experiment. When Kate discovered the giant pile of capsules and notebooks coming out of the tube in the ground, I had to re-examine my thoughts. If there are two men in the Pearl recording all that date and sending it off to headquarters, and headquarters is a ditch in the grass, who is really the subject of the experiment? Who is in control here? What is going on?!
  • Also – what on earth happened when the button didn’t get pressed? Did the hatch implode? What was that light in the sky? The screeching noise? I don’t understand how that could possibly happen. Also – the last scene with the research lab in the arctic really confused me. I’m not even sure what happened there.
  • Michael is a jerk – a stupid, turncoat jerk. I understand that he loves his son (whom he barely knows), but he goes clear against the “Live Together, Die Alone” mantra when he kills Ana Lucia and Libby to free Henry. That episode infuriates me. My favorite character of the whole season – gone! I mentioned in my post on Season One (here) that I wished Michael could have been the one to die instead of Boone. While I have not missed Boone in this season, and recognize that Michael’s actions were necessary to fuel the plot, I still wish he would die.
  • I love getting more involved with the returning cast members. Sayid had a beautiful journey after losing Shannon. I must say, even if I was not a fan of her in the first season, she impressed me in the episodes after Boone’s death. Leave it to LOST to kill a character just as they get interesting.
  • I love Hurley. The writers finally gave him some real emotions to work with instead of using him solely as comic relief. His connection to Libby was so beautiful. I loved seeing him open up to his potential. It broke my heart when Kate told him on the beach that Libby had been shot.
  • Sun keeps getting more and more awesome. I feel like she may be the smartest person on the island. I’m in love with her strength and beauty.
  • I’m hoping to see more of bad-ass Kate in season three. She was the only gun-toting female of season one. As soon as trigger-happy Ana Lucia arrived, Kate got sidelined. While I loved Ana Lucia, I’m hoping the writers will give Kate her balls back.
  • Jack and Sawyer are pissing me off with their pissing match. I realize the show needs conflict at every angle, but I just don’t buy Kate being attracted to Sawyer for a second. If this was real life, Jack would probably win.
  • Locke’s journey is so epic. How much difficulty does one person have to go through in a lifetime? I feel like he’s partially inspired by Job, from the bible. Everything that could go wrong in his life does, but he still maintains touch with his core strength. I love his mantra: “Don’t tell me what I cannot do.” It resonates clearly with me. I feel like I’m learning from him. Wise man.
  • Everything else seemed like side story to me. Desmond was interesting, but I feel like I still don’t know what he’s about. The increased presence of the “others” creates some thrills, but I don’t feel like I really know those characters yet. However, I feel like I will as the seasons progress.

Okay. Those are my thoughts.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know below!

  1. I agree with your thoughts. Season 2 was such a contrast from season 1, but it maintained the continuity of great writing and interesting characters.

    I love the analogy that the writers give on the series. Each season is like a book, a la Harry Potter. It has a beginning, middle, and end. It will always focus on character. Season 1- the castaways. Season 2- The tailsection.

    The very last scene, with the arctic station, was to show that Desmond’s chick (Penelope) has been trying to find the island. When the button wasn’t pushed, the island briefly appeared to the outside world, on their monitors. That’s pretty much all you need to get from that scene. Pretty epic.

    I love Libby! 🙂

  2. I felt the same way about Season 2. Michael irritated me to no end. I understand wanting to save your son, but the way he did it I don’t agree with. He was pretty much a selfish butt hole.

    The light in the sky…that confused the heck out of me when I re-watched the 2nd season. That will come back later and wait till you see what role it plays in the series.

    The intoduction of Desmond was interesting but I kind of felt like he was there, then he wasn’t. But he comes back in a later season and you get more of his backstory, which is really interesting.

    As for the “Others,” I still don’t feel like I know who they are and I am now caught up and watching the final season. Their story gets explained in pieces but I feel it’s so chopped up you can’t link the pieces together to make sense of it all.

    I can’t wait to hear your reactions to season 3. Just a little heads up, do NOT give up on season 3. The first few episodes are kind of boring, (at least they were to me) but I promise it gets so much better and so much more interesting. 🙂

    • Thanks for the heads up on Season 3. I have a 6 hour bus ride to power through those duller episodes tomorrow!

  3. Yes…the 6 hour bus ride will definitely help get you through the first few episodes. I believe it’s just the first 5 or so then it starts to pick up and get interesting again. 🙂

  4. As far as the research lab thing goes… fun fact: the number that came on the screen, under the words “Electromagnetic anamoly”, thats 108 squared. 108 is what all the numbers add up to (4+8+15+16+23+42)…. I remember when I saw that scene, I immediately thought that it was the island they “found.” But i can’t tell you anymore 😉

    And you know, I think I completely disagree with you about Jack and Kate. I always thought Kate and Sawyer went together better. I’ve always thought they’ve had better chemistry. And I do realize I’m in the minority in that opinion.

    as far as John Locke goes, just wait till Season 3!!
    And as your friend said—be patient with Season 3. It has a rough beginning. The reason for that is because the writers were flying blind; they didn’t know how much time they were going to be given from the studio to wrap up the show. It wasn’t until the episode, “Stranger in a Strange Land”, when the ratings began to plummitt, that the studio decided to give them a deadline (and for good reason–it was the worst episode of lost). From there, they decided LOST would have 3 more seasons with 16 hours each (but season 4 was truncated due to the writer’s strike, and the leftover hours were allocated to the 2 subsequent seasons). Although i will say: the premiere of season 3 is really good. One of my hardest cries in LOST came during that episode, towards the end. It’s a punch line from Jack, you’ll know when you see it.

    As far as Desmond goes… keep your an eye on him. Solid character right there. He was nominated for an emmy for that episode (best guest star). He didn’t win though; there are only two actors to ever win an emmy for LOST. The first is Terry O’Quinn, who plays Locke. The second is Michael Emerson, who plays Ben.

    Speaking of which—BEN. I *love* the character. Not because I like him, but because I think the actor is brilliant. I really think Michael Emerson is a genius. I think he’s one of the most professional of the actors on the show, and puts a tremendous amount of detail in his performance. To be specific, it’s his facial expressions. He can speak *so much* with just his eyes. He knows how to act for the camera. When Sayid said to him “I’m a torturer” in the episode “One of Them”… the face change he made was PERFECT, it spoke volumes, yet the best part is that it was *so subtle*! You could tell, in that one moment, that one little gesture, that Ben had a wake up call. He was scared. Ah, brilliant…

    Anyway, the finale of Season 2… I love it. It totally epitomizes everything I love about this show. People give LOST this stigma as being a show that’s nothing more than a bunch of crazy mysteries that go nowhere and are stupidly confusing. But the show is more than that; it’s damm good story telling. These red herrings aren’t just dull mysterious fluff that go nowhere–there is substance behind the answers. In this episode, they answered the question as to what the light was that came from the hatch in Season 1 when Locke was banging on it. Just a crazy cliffhanger in season 1, but there was so much substance revealed behind it. Here it was–2 men giving the other hope during a time they were *Lost*, with both of them realizing it during an incredible twist of fate—the revelation that this button-pushing thing isn’t a joke. This island is real, and there is some powerful force beneath it all.

    DESMOND: 3 days before you came down here, before we met, I heard a banging on the Hatch door, shouting. But it was you, John, wasn’t it? You said there isn’t any purpose—there’s no such thing as fate. But you saved my life, brother, so that I could save yours.
    [We see 5 seconds left on the timer.]
    DESMOND: I’ve got to go. And you’ve got to get as far away from here as possible.
    LOCKE: Go where? Stop!
    DESMOND: I’m going to blow the dam, John. [the timer starts flipping to the hieroglyphs] I’m sorry for whatever happened that made you stop believing. But it’s all real. Now I’ve got to go and make it all go away.
    LOCKE: Wait, Desmond.
    DESMOND: I’ll see you in another life, brother!
    …..
    That part gives me the chills! I cry too of course

    But to end on an emo-note… I love this note from Penny. Such remarkable beauty:

    “Dearest Des, I am writing this letter to you as you leave for prison. And I’ve hidden it in the one place you would turn to in a moment of great desperation. I know you go away with the weight of what happened on your shoulders. And I know the only person who can ever take it off is you. Please don’t give up, Des. Because all we really need to survive is one person who truly loves us. And you have her. I will wait for you. Always. I love you, Pen.”

    good stuff

    take care my friend

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

