Project Hotel Key – Kansas City, Missouri

Days Inn

Do you want to know the best part about touring to your roommate’s home state?

I’ll give you one guess…

Give up? Already?

Alright, I’ll tell you. He stays with his family and I get a room to myself again! This more than makes up for getting skipped in the single room rotation the first time. It doesn’t hurt either that the room is gorgeous. Full mirrors cover the wall over the beds, with switch-activated lights overhead. The pillows are firm, and you get three of them (my ideal pillow number). What an amazing room to have all to myself!

The second best part of being in your roommate’s home state – an inside scoop on all the best places to eat and hang out in town!

If you are ever in Kansas City, i recommend checking out LEGENDS. It’s a huge shopping and dining destination, similar to Bricktown in Oklahoma City or Atlantic Station in Atlanta, but much larger.

I started the evening running around with my date, Lena, taking pictures of fun stuff we encountered.

Lena as Dorothy

The doorman at T-Rex, a huge dino-themed restaurant from the creators of The Rainforest Cafe.

After running around the complex for an hour or so, we went over to Yardhouse for some dinner and beer. The restaurant gets its name from the 3-foot-tall glasses that bartenders used to hand beer up to the drivers of stagecoaches back in the day and pride themselves on having the largest selection of draught beers of any restaurant in the world. While I skipped on the yard glasses and only drank out of ordinary pints, the selection was truly incredible. After several minutes of scouring the beer menu, I went with my London nostalgia and started with a Black Velvet (Guinness with Strongbow Cider). I followed this with an extremely sweet concoction that should have been a dessert, the Youngberry Chocolate (Young’s Double Chocolate Stout with Lindeman’s Framboise). It tasted like a liquified dark chocolate and raspberry truffle. After all that sugar, I decided to lessen the pressure on my overloaded sweet tooth with a glass of Sapporo, a Japanese beer that, according to Lena, is made of rice. She didn’t convince me, but it was delicious nonetheless.

In case you wonder, I did have food too. The Springer graciously covered all of our food for us at this meal. We ordered a delicious selection of appetizers (scroll back up and click on the “Yardhouse” link to see the menu – it’s mouth-watering) which, along with my liquid intake, went a good way toward filling me up. I was considering ordering a soup and calling it a day, but their Pan Seared Ahi was too intriguing to pass up. Cooked to just the right temperature and color, they serve the tuna over asparagus alongside brown rice (substituted for jasmine) and fried basil leaves with a spicy chinese black bean sauce. The plating is gorgeous and the flavors are outstanding.

If you are ever in Kansas City, make SURE you stop by this classy establishment for some delicious food and outstanding draught beer.

Of course, we couldn’t just leave after food. What better to work off a great meal than some arcade games at Dave & Buster’s?

Reid and Brian riffing some killer solos on Guitar Hero.

Route 66 had a great Thursday night off in Kansas City, Missouri – one place that I would return to in a heartbeat!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

