Little Indulgences on Tour

Being on tour, while exciting, is a taxing experience. Endless days of bumpy bus rides, heavy lifting, and energetic performances cause some wear and tear on your body and mind. Every once and a while you need to take some time to refresh your mind, body, and soul.

Today was a me day for the entire company. We’re in Kearney, Nebraska for a few days so we went to the spa! Lena looked in the yellow pages and found a really cute place called BANG! We went over in the afternoon for several hours of haircuts, massages, and various other spa services. The staff was incredibly nice. My roommate Casey actually got a manicure. I went over to give him some grief and found myself so impressed by his cuticles that I had to get one myself! Yes, I actually got a manicure. I was a little skeptical, but our amazing nail tech (with me in picture at right) did a great job. I even considered going further and adding polish. The Alice in Wonderland-inspired Off With Her Red! looked really exciting, especially after seeing the movie and loving Helena Bonham Carter. I opted out of it in the end, but still, my cuticles look amazing. If you are ever in Kearney, Nebraska and need some pampering, definitely check out BANG! salon and spa. They will treat you right!

After my awesome haircut and manicure, I walked over to Target to buy a bathing suit. We’d been in several hotels with pools and/or hot tubs and I wanted to join in on the fun. On my way to buy a bathing suit, I ran into several t-shirts (including the one I’m wearing in above photo) that I couldn’t pass up. I love the quality of Target’s bargain clothing. I’m not sure how they can afford to sell such nice fabric blends for under ten dollars, but I am not complaining!

I returned to the spa to show off my new items, garnering rave reviews from the rest of the crew. Lena felt left out of the new clothes game, so she grabbed my hand and pulled me over to Wynk, the cutest boutique I’ve ever seen. The selection is corn-fed western chic, exactly what you’d expect from Nebraska, with a little extra fashion thrown in. Lena found a gorgeous jersey-knit pea coat with Janet Jackson-style strap buttons on sale for $80.00! What a steal! I felt a little upset that the store only carried women’s items – nothing for me to buy! Or so I thought, until the attendant led me to the candles! I’m not normally a fan of scented candles, but these smell like perfume. I had to buy some for the special lady friends in my life. If you want some of your own, the sweet little fire pots are from the Tyler Candle Company and you can purchase their amazing products HERE!

My new friends, Glam and Kathina.

Who knew Kearney, Nebraska would be such a hit?

Bravo, Corn State. Bravo!

Now that I feel human again, I am ready to go out there and keep giving it to our audiences around the country!

NEW FEATURE:

I really want to use this blog as a conversation tool – a way to connect. I’ve got this comment feature on the blog, and I it always makes me smile when people weigh in on whatever I’ve written. So, here’s what I’m gonna do. Each post from here on out will end with a question for you guys to answer in the comments. I write, you smile. You comment, I smile. It all works out for the best!

QUESTION: Do you remember your first manicure? Does the memory hold any special significance for you? Let me know!

Thanks for reading, blog friends!

    • Lindsay
    • March 10th, 2010

    Yay Nebraska! I shall have to check out this salon the next time I’m on my way home!

    I remember my first manicure being awkward, as well as the pedicure. Not because the people did a bad job, I just felt bad that they had to scrub my feet and clip my nails.
    Even though it’s their job, I felt like I should have helped.
    But, afterward I was very happy with my pretty pretty nails, even though I’m usually too clutzy to actually keep them pretty for longer than a day or so.

    • Yeah – I felt kinda embarrassed. I bite my nails, so they were pretty gross. The tech assured me she’d seen everything, so that made it somewhat better.

      I also hear you on the klutz factor. I know that my nails will look atrocious tomorrow after loading the set again.

    • Teresa
    • March 10th, 2010

    I really love the idea of ending with a question…..

    I cannot seem to recall when I had my first manicure. One thing I do know, however, is that there are times when I just want to sit back and relax….there is nothing like going and having a pedicure (I am more of a fan of these) and feeling pampered. I always indulge in reading some light weight magazine while my toes are being honored and adored. Ah la la.

    • Light weight magazine? As opposed to a heavy one? I would assume that one wouldn’t want to do heavy lifting whilst relaxing. Best to go with National Enquirer.

    • izzy
    • March 16th, 2010

    I also bite my nails, but what’s worse is that i was genetically gifted with the world’s smallest nail beds. and the nail techs remind me of my “baby nails” every time.

    i leave you with this video. this is every experience i’ve ever had in a nail salon. ever.

    • That is one of my favorite videos. You know she’s the same girl who does Bon Qui Qui, right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

