Right Wing Extremists want to hang up the “Telephone.”

Earlier this week, I showed you guys the BRILLIANT Tarantino-inspired video for Lady Gaga’s new hit song “Telephone.” As you might expect, the video hasn’t been unveiled without a certain amount of controversy. Fox News aired an interview yesterday with Sandy Rios, president of the Culture Campaign, an organization that aims to enlist God-fearing Christians to combat the moral downfall of our American lifestyle by spreading God’s truth throughout our humanist society. What do you think of Rios’s views on Lady Gaga’s newest video?

Personally, I have always considered it a parent’s duty and privilege to guide their child toward wholesome entertainment. Challenging art is often damaging to a child’s brain and soul if introduced before the child has the capacity to understand and enjoy it. It is a parent’s job to pre-screen movies and know which television stations to block. Large organizations should not have to do this work for parents. However, many parents are either too busy or too apathetic to actually monitor what their child watches. This should not lead to the censorship of meaningful art.

Lady Gaga’s work is not appropriate for children. I can agree with Rios on that. However, I will add that Lady Gaga is not making these music videos for a lunchbox-toting audience. The imagery she uses in her lyrics and music videos are not relevant to a child’s emotional and psychological journey. Take, for instance, the chorus of “Telephone.”

Stop callin’, stop callin’. I don’t wanna talk anymore. I left my head and my heart on the dance floor…

How many children have their own phones? I would venture that not many do. If kids do have cell phones, the only person they want to stop callin’ them is Mom. Also, I don’t know many kids that go out dancing. Most that I know prefer to stick to playgrounds and such. This is just not music that a kid can really get into. Not to mention, Lady Gaga’s costumes and makeup would probably give most young children nightmares.

Bottom line: Art is art. If you don’t appreciate it, don’t look at it.

QUESTION: What are your thoughts on Lady Gaga? Destroyer of American Childhood, or Savior of the Music Video?

    • Louisa
    • March 16th, 2010

    Ok. This is just another example of the conservatives wanting to censor art in this country, and that is ONE (of many) thing I WILL NOT tolerate. I’m sorry if it is offensive (I personally did not see much to be offended by, but I don’t get offended by much of anything) but calm down.

    Sorry Dylan, this outrages me more than I can express. I hate that people think they have the right to censor art. You don’t. Art is art, it is an artist expressing an opinion, idea, or image that they personally feel attracted to.

  1. I think there will always be advocates for censoring art. Art is something that stands out, it’s a part of the artist. It’s take it or leave it.
    It just so happens that the media loves these situations and tends to rile up the people that say ‘leave it’.
    While ever there is art, there will always be people who dislike it. What some of the haters don’t realise is that there are other opinions outside of their own, and who is to say what is ‘right’ or ‘offensive’ when speaking about something like artistic expression? Drawing moral lines is one thing, but moving the line to suit someone because they can’t find the time to teach their kids the difference between what Gaga is doing and what’s appropriate in the household is a little bit much :/
    Both of you make excellent points.

    Personally I love the video. The second the guards said ‘I told you she didn’t have a dick’ I fell in love with it.
    Not only was it art, it was a response. Well done, Gaga…well done!

  2. SAVIOR OF THE MUSIC VIDEO! I haven’t seen a video that made my jaw drop since….well Bad Romance, but still. Before GaGa I hadn’t even cared to watch a music video since TRL went off the air 🙂

  3. I feel Megan Kelley was doing a god job provoking her on allowing it as art. This goes down to extremism. Rios being the extreme right, but I feel Gaga does push things, being it gets coverage, as seen – perfect example. The Christian right is always going to gripe and complain about racy things and if they would take a step back and see that limiting what their children are exposed to I feel damages the children to developing proper decision making skills. Most grow up being rebellious and “pushing” that extra step. Instead if children are exposed they are able to process and conceptualize the right vs. wrong mentality as knowing what is best for them individually.

    I have to disagree with the title of your post though, saying “conservatives” is a broad title that covers even me, when it is actually the extreme right Christian base.

    Thought provoking I must say!

    • I apologize for the offense, Jeff. I did not mean to include progressive-thinking conservatives in that dogpile.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

