Project Hotel Key – Mebane, North Carolina

Holiday Inn Express

Ah, Mebane. What was my favorite part of Mebane? Returning to the hotel at 7, after finishing all of my post show duties, to a lovely king-sized bed in a room to myself. My least favorite part? Performing a matinee the day after the worst stomach bug/food poisoning of my life! That said, our audience in Mebane was wonderful. They showed up in droves to see a rowdy 50s revue on Palm Sunday, not hindered whatsoever by the theatre’s location within a gym. They call these special houses gymnatoriums and they are exactly what you would expect them to be. A stage is cut into the wall of a basketball court and, come showtime, the goals retract toward the ceiling and chairs appear in the center of the court. Voila! Instant theatre! It’s like powdered hot chocolate, with a lot more rubber, and no chocolate…or milk.

Another cool thing I can tell you about Mebane is that I got called for an interview with their local paper! You can read the article HERE! The reporter, Charity Apple, is a lovely woman. She was wonderful to talk to and crafted a nice article out of our conversation. I hope this is the first of many newspaper interviews for me. I rather enjoyed it!

QUESTION: Have you ever been in the paper? What’s the story there? Share with me in the comments!

    • Izzy
    • March 30th, 2010

    I have been in the Columbus Ledger-Enquirer more times than I’m willing to admit. Mostly for shows, but once for a big scholarship and a bunch of other random times. Apparently there’s not much to talk about in Columbus. OH…also any time I am featured in the paper all of my mother’s friends mail us copies like we didn’t see it.

    • Gotta love the Ledger-Enquirer. I was in there twice for Footloose and Route 66.

      My grandmother brought a copy of her local paper to our show in Bristol, TN. So cute. It was word-for-word what we send out in the promotional package, but she LOVED reading it.

    • Rex
    • March 31st, 2010

    I’ve been interviewed a couple of times for papers or magazines and more for tv, and how you treat the reporter can make or break the story.

    • Teresa
    • March 31st, 2010

    When I was traveling with the energy exhibit and driving my truck…the newspapers loved me and I got a ton of press….it is fun, I agree!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

