Easter Sushi!

If you know me well, you know that my perfect afternoon includes some unagi rolls, a cup of green tea, and a good book – either essays or an intriguing novel. That said, you can imagine my reaction when my good friend Shira shared THIS with me on twitter today:

They call it Peepshi. The idea is to make sushi out of the severed heads and bodies of peeps, using rice krispy treats and fruit roll-ups instead of the traditional rice and seaweed. While I think the idea is fascinatingly creative, I would never eat these creations, and I can’t help but be slightly disturbed by the appearance of chicken heads popping out of sushi rolls.

What do you think?

Have you found a new easter tradition?

Are you running for the nearest bucket?

Let me know in the comments!

Original Article with Recipes: “How to Make Peepshi = Peeps Sushi” – Grace Kang

    • Rex
    • April 8th, 2010

    we were joking yesterday about trying to find a good chicken sushi place never imagining you actually could

    • Well, it’s not exactly chicken, but it comes close enough, I suppose. I’ve actually found chicken katsu rolls before at some sushi restaurants. I’ve never ventured to try it though. I love the fish too much.

    • Kelly
    • April 8th, 2010

    I’ve seen this before. I’ve made candy sushi, but instead of peeps, I used swedish fish. and red vines. I don’t know how these taste(since I’m not that big of a fan of peeps) but the candy sushi I’ve had is actually pretty tasty.

    • Swedish fish sounds like a more clever replacement than peeps for actual raw fish. However, I still can’t imagine wanting to eat it. When it comes to sugary flavors, I’m a chocolate person. I think I need to come up with a way to turn s’mores into sushi. This will be an interesting post-tour experiment. I’ll keep you updated.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

