Brave Girl

As an artist, I like being supportive of those that are still growing in their craft. I always applaud my younger friends who are still in high school or college who take risks and chances. It takes a lot of courage to get up and sing in front of a large group of people. It takes a lot of rehearsal and preparation to make your song good enough for public consumption.

However, these standards somehow¬†dissipate when the “public” is invisible and tuning in through computers. People will put anything up on YouTube, no matter how unprepared and unrefined the performance is. Sometimes, this leads to moments of raw brilliance. Other times, it leads to…well….

Just watch the video.

To be fair, this girl is not a complete train wreck. There is a big instrument in that not-quite-petite frame. With about six months of solid vocal coaching to get her powerful voice under control, some English lessons, and a crash course in how to sensibly apply eye makeup, I think she could really be a force to reckon with. Until then, I hope she keeps posting videos. While she may not be vocally brilliant, the messy runs and botched pronunciations still bring a smile to my face.

    • jonmichaelson
    • May 1st, 2010

    yeah dude, i totally feel sympathy for those kind of efforts too, I’m glad I’m not the only one. But I also feel empathy for them, because I do it too. I always put myself out there, singing and playing, regardless of how I think I sound (and i always think I sound terrible). Playing on the streetcorner, posting online vids… And each time, I’m scared shitless. But I do it anyway. You gotta be bold.

    on a completely different topic, is there a way to automatically make comments on posts visible? I saw you commented on my blog, but I didn’t see it until just now because I had to approve it. Is there a way I can just make it so whenever you comment, it posts automatically, instead of me having to “approve it”?

    • You only have to approve a user once before all of their comments are automatically approved. It’s a pretty convenient system.

    • theyearofme
    • May 13th, 2010

    I think she’d sound good if she tried to sound like herself and not the song she’s singing along to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

